

Mimi Fest: 65 years of indefectible commitment and dedicated support to the Solvay Institutes

Brussel, 8 July 2019

PROGRAM

13:00 - 14:30	Welcome lunch
14:30 - 14:50	Opening
14:50 - 15:15	David Gross: The Solvay Conferences on Physics
15:15 - 15:40	Kurt Wüthrich:
	The Success Story of the Solvay Conferences on Chemistry
15:40 - 16:05	Franklin Lambert: Ernest Solvay and the beginnings of the Solvay Councils
16:05 - 16:35	Coffee Break
16:35 - 17:00	Lars Brink: Nobel and Solvay
17:00 - 17:25	Robbert Dijkgraaf: Oppenheimer and the Solvay Institutes
17:25 - 18:00	Malcolm Perry and Thomas Hertog: Remembering Stephen Hawking
18:00 - 18:20	Jean-Marie Solvay: 65 years of indefectible commitment and dedicated
	support to the Solvay Institutes
18:20 - 18:30	Closing
18:40	Pre-dinner drink + dinner

David Gross (2004 Nobel Laureate in Physics) chairs the Solvay Committee for Physics

Kurt Wüthrich (2002 Nobel Laureate in chemistry) chairs the Solvay Committee for Chemistry

Franklin Lambert was deputy-director of the Solvay Institutes and is an expert on their history

Lars Brink (former chair of the Nobel committee for Physics) chairs the Advisory Committee of the Solvay Institutes

Robbert Dijkgraaf is the Director of the Institute for Advanced Study (Princeton) where Oppenheimer was Director from 1947 to 1966.

Malcolm Perry is Professor at the University of Cambridge and was a close collaborator of Stephen Hawking

Thomas Hertog is Professor at the KUL and was the last student of Stephen Hawking.