International Solvay Institutes


Solvay Chairs


The International Solvay chairs enable the Solvay Institutes to invite in Brussels an eminent scientist for a period of one to two months in order to give lectures on her or his work to researchers in the corresponding field. The chair program starts with an inaugural lecture, the target of which is a broad audience.

The International Solvay Chair in Physics was created in 2006 with the enthusiastic and efficient support of Jacques Solvay who was then the President of the Solvay Institutes. After his death, the Board of Directors of the International Solvay Institutes decided to rename the chair after him.

Thanks to the support of the Solvay group, the program was extended to Chemistry in 2008.


Jacques Solvay International Chairs in Physics

- 2024 Solvay Professor: Samaya Nissanke
(UvA and Nikhef, The Netherlands)

Inaugural lecture on 1 October 2024 at 4:00 pm



- 2025 Solvay Professor: Vyacheslav Rychkov
(IHES, Bures-sur-Yvette, France)


International Solvay Chairs in Chemistry

- 2024 Solvay Professor: Markus Antonietti

(Max Planck Institute, Potsdam, Germany)

Inaugural lecture on 14 May 2024 at 4:00 pm

Lecture 1 on 16 May

Lecture 2 on 21 May (TBC)

Lecture 3 on 23 May


- 2025 Solvay Professor: Laura Gagliardi 

(University of Chicago)




Jacques Solvay International Chairs in Physics

2006: Ludwig Faddeev, Saint-Petersburg (Russia)

2007: Michael Berry, Bristol (UK)

2008: David Gross, 2004 Nobel Laureate in

Physics, Santa Barbara (USA)

2009: Valery Rubakov, Moscow (Russia)

2010: Serge Haroche, 2012 Nobel Laureate

in Physics, Paris (France)

2011: Nathan Seiberg, Princeton (USA)

2012: Jan Zaanen, Leiden (The Netherlands)

2013: Gian Giudice, CERN (Switzerland)

2014: Viatcheslav Mukhanov, LMU (Germany)

2015: Peter Zoller, Innsbruck (Austria)

2016: Dam Thanh Son, Chicago (USA)

2017: Uri Alon, Weizmann Inst. of Science (Israel)

2018: Bernard Derrida, Collège de France (France)

2019: Gary GibbonsDAMTP, U. of Cambridge (UK)

2020: Roger Blandford, Stanford University (USA)

2021: Jean Dalibard, ENS & Collège de France

2022: Juna Kollmeier, Canadian Institute for Theoratical Astrophysics, Toronto (Canada)

2023: Subir Sachdev, Harvard University (USA)




2011 Solvay Centenary Chair

David Gross - 2004 Nobel Laureate in Physics
Santa Barbara (USA)

International Solvay Chairs in Chemistry

2008: Richard Saykally, Berkeley (USA)

2009: Alexander Mikhailov, Berlin (Germany)

2010: Weitao Yang, Durham (USA)

2011: Jean-Luc Brédas, Atlanta (USA)

2012: Viola Vogel, Zurich (Switzerland)

2013: Egbert Meijer, Eindhoven (The Netherlands)

2014: Richard Royce Schrock, 2005 Nobel
Laureate in Chemistry, MIT (USA)

2015: Andreas Manz (Saarbrücken, Germany)

2016: Raymond Kapral, Toronto (Canada)

2017: Richard Henderson, 2017 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, Cambridge (UK)

2018: Ben Feringa, 2016 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, U. of Groningen (The Netherlands)

2019: Gernot Frenking, Philipps-U. Marburg, (Germany)

2020: Joanna Aizenberg (Harvard University, USA)

2021: Omar Yaghi (Berkeley UC, USA)

2022: Daniel Jacob (Harvard University, USA)

2023: Ehud Gazit (Tel-Aviv University, Israel)